Opelika vs. St. Paul’s Episcopal School high school football

Opelika offensive lineman James Dawson (70) battles with Daniel Foster-Allen (90) during the Opelika vs. St. Paul’s Episcopal School football game at Bulldog Stadium in Opelika on Nov. 15.

Last Friday, the Central-Phenix City Red Devils clinched a spot in the Super 7’s Class 7A championship game by beating Auburn High. This week, three local teams look to join Central in next week’s championship series in Jordan-Hare Stadium.

Three local teams will play in their respective classification’s semifinals this Friday. If the team wins, Opelika will advance to the championship game for the first time since 2016; Reeltown will go for the first time since 2010; and Lanett will go for the first time since 2017, when the Panthers won the Class 2A state title.

Below are relevant postseason numbers for all three teams as well as their next opponent. The number beside each team refers to their playoff seeding in their respective region:

AHSAA Class 6A – Semifinals

No. 1 Opelika Bulldogs (11-1, 5-0) at No. 4 Spanish Fort Toros (8-4, 5-3)

Third Round Results: Opelika beat Hueytown 45-24; Spanish Fort beat Park Crossing 28-21

2018 Playoff Results: Opelika and Spanish Fort lost in the quarterfinals

Playoff History Between Teams: The teams have split the previous two meetings, with Opelika winning the last one 21-17 in the 2016 quarterfinals

Coach’s Postseason Records: Opelika’s Erik Speakman is 5-1 in his second trip to the postseason; Spanish Fort’s Ben Blackmon is 15-8 in his 10th trip

Program State Championships: Opelika has never won a title; Spanish Fort won in 2010, 2012, 2013 and 2015

Class 2A – Semifinals

No. 1 Leroy Bears (11-2, 7-0) at No. 1 Reeltown Rebels (12-1, 6-0)

Third Round Results: Reeltown beat G.W. Long 41-22; Leroy beat Ariton 35-24

2018 Playoff Results: Reeltown lost in the first round; Leroy lost in the quarterfinals

Playoff History Between Teams: Luverne is 3-1 in the postseason against Reeltown, including a 34-7 win in the last meeting in the 2010 Class 2A state championship

Coach’s Postseason Records: Reeltown’s Matt Johnson is 4-3 in his fourth trip to the postseason; Leroy’s Jason Massey is 11-5 in his sixth trip

Program State Championships: Reeltown won titles in 1987, 2001 and 2009; Luverne has won in 2004, 2006, 2007, 2008 and 2010

Class 1A – Semifinals

No. 1 Lanett Panthers (12-0, 6-0) at No. 1 Sweet Water Bulldogs (11-1, 6-0)

Third Round Results: Lanett beat Isabella 41-21; Sweet Water beat Brantley 38-35

2018 Playoff Results: Lanett lost in the quarterfinals; Sweet Water lost in the first round

Playoff History Between Teams: First-ever meeting

Coach’s Postseason Records: Lanett’s Clifford Story is 15-5 in his seventh trip to the postseason; Sweet Water’s Pat Thompson is 11-4 in his sixth trip

Program State Championships: Lanett won titles in 1957, 1963 and 2017; Sweet Water won in 1978, 1979, 1982, 1986, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2010 and 2017

Get Our Daily News and Sports Newsletter

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Recommended for you

Load comments